Examination Pattern for Common Proficiency Test (CPT)

The entire CA course includes three stages namely-

  • CPT (Foundation) level
  • Intermediate level
  • Final level

The examination pattern and curriculum for all the above courses are different. Enlisted below is the detailed pattern CA CPT Foundation Exam of ICAI.

Exam Pattern: CA CPT (Common Proficiency Test)

CPT (Common Proficiency Test) is an exam at Foundation Level, which allows access to ICAI courses further.

  • The question paper is based on MCQs (multiple-choice questions) of 200 marks in total.
  • The examination is held in pencil & pen mode for 4 hours duration divided into 2 sessions (each session is for 2 hours).

The entire question is divided into 4sections given as under:

Subject Minimum Marks to be obtained Maximum Marks
Part A. Fundamentals of Accounting 18 60
Part B. Mercantile Law 12 40
Part C. General Economics 15 50
Part D. Quantitative Aptitude 15 50
         TOTAL                  100                 200

Marking Scheme for Exam:- 

  • Each MCQ carries one mark each and for every accurate attempt, students are allotted a full 1 mark.
  • For every wrong attempt, 0.25 will be deducted as negative marking.
  • Candidates have an option to choose the Hindi medium Booklet of the question paper.