NEET (National Eligibility Entrance Test) will be conducted by The National Testing Agency (NTA) for the admission of MBBS, BDS, AYUSH, veterinary, and other medical/paramedical courses in India.

It is the sole entrance test for getting admission in MBBS and BDA courses in India. This exam is conducted annually. Around 1,63,150 MBBS, BDS, AYUSH, BVSc, and AH seats are to be filled through NEET 2021. It is the most important medical entrance examination held in India for UG admissions with approximately 16 lakhs of candidates applying for it.

The exam may be held in online mode and students will be given two attempts chances as per the latest update of NEET-UG 2021, this is still in consideration by the Ministry of Education with the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare as well as National Medical Commission to decide on this.

also check>>

So what’s new?

  • About possibilities of conducting NEET exam in online mode instead of offline mode as asked by NTA to the Health Ministry. Because of this, there are chances that this will be conducted twice a year.
  • The education minister has had a live session with candidates to provide the update on this where he answered many questions and queries of students, still no clarification is provided on dates and mode of examination by NTA.
  • NEET 2021 will be conducted in 11 languages just like last year including English, Hindi, Tamil, Urdu, Marathi, Bengali, Gujrati, Oriya, Assamese, Kannada, and Telugu. Based on their personal preferences candidates can choose the language.
  • Ministry of education has been ruled out any syllabus reduction for the NEET 2021, and they have even clarified that the syllabus will remain unchanged.
  • The exam pattern will have some changes like JEE Mains 2021, where students will be given 90 questions, and out of which they have to answer 75 questions only.

Eligibility criteria for NEET 2021

The National Testing Agency has given the eligibility criteria for NEET 2021. Candidates wishing to apply for this examination should fall under these criteria. They should have nationality as Indian Nationals, Non-Resident Indians (NRIs), Overseas Citizen of India (OCI), Persons with Indian Origin (PIO), Foreign Nationals.

The minimum age limit is 17 years. Last year, the rule which was specifying the maximum age limit to apply for this exam was rule out in the court of law. Therefore there is no upper age limit for now and candidates older than 25 years of age applying for NEET 2021 will be provisionally admitted subject to the ruling of the High Court of Delhi.

The minimum qualification required is that the candidate must have cleared class 12 or equivalent from a recognized institute, and students who are still appearing for class 12 examinations in summer 2021 can also apply for the same. Candidates from open school completing their class 12 are also eligible. They must have cleared their qualification with physics, chemistry, and biology as these are the mandatory subjects for the NEET examination

Minimum marks required in the qualifying examination:

General category: 50%

PWD category: 45%,

SC/ST/OBC: 40%.


  • The syllabus for NEET is divided into 3 sections – Chemistry, Physics, and Biology (Zoology and Botany) and the questions generally asked in the exam are from Class 11 and 12.
  • NEET Biology syllabus is further divided into 2 sections i.e. Zoology and Botany with the weightage of biology is 50% in NEET
  • In the Physics section, candidates must cover 10 Units from the class XI syllabus and 11 Units from the class XII syllabus. The weightage of this section in NEET is 25%.
  • From Chemistry, the maximum number of units has to be prepared, i.e., 14 and 16 from Class XI and XII respectively with the weightage of this section in NEET is 25%.